The artist

XR-nb-02

Xavier de Richemont is a French painter born in 1959 in Algeria. He lives and works in Angers (France).

He studied painting at the Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts in Aix-en-Provence (France). He then worked worldwide for theater and opera with artists such as Robert (Bob) Wilson, David Salle and Andy de Groat.
Xavier de Richemont has created for 20 years multiple monumental video works around the world. In 2002 he created the first Festival of Lights of Chartres (France) where he was the only artist for 10 years. In 2010 he is invited by the Mexican government to commemorate with his work the bicentenary of Independence and the centenary of the Mexican Revolution in 7 emblematic cities of the country.

In 2012, he signed the opening of the Mayan Grand Museum of Merida (Mexico) with a founding work «Yuca’ma’yab» on the Maya World. In 2014 he set up a work on the American soil by proposing for the next decade his «San Antonio – The Saga» a masterful 24-minute video work created for the oldest cathedral in the USA (San Antonio, Texas, USA). He designed in 2015 a monumental artwork for the king of Morocco in Marrakech. Xavier de Richemont has participated in numerous International Festivals and Video Art events in the United States, Canada and Germany, notably in the context of Europeans Capitals of Culture. His trilogy (2016-2018) dedicated to Joan of Arc for the city of Orleans has been unanimously recognized as innovative. The French Embassy in India ordered him in 2017 a monumental artwork for Amber Fort in Jaïpur (Rajasthan). The work «Bhargal» was presented as part of the opening of the Bonjour India festival. He prepared in 2018 for The National Museum of the Renaissance an original work about the art collection of the Château d’Écouen ordered by the Ministry of Culture.

He just signed a colossal artwork on the history of spinning in the city of Roubaix (France) and is currently working on several project in the United States, in India and Mexico.

His works can currently be seen in France, Spain, the United States or Mexico.

The significance of the meaning contained in his work is major. This particular graphic treatment with lyrical strokes and movements, playing on the slowness of the movements and the vibration of contours, masses and colors, thus assembling figuration and abstraction, narration and music, is very personal to him. This work is composed and projected on video. His research of a new way of writing through contemporary means, his scenic experience and his painter temperament make him one of the most sought French video artist in the world.

Latest installations

L'artiste

XR-nb-02

Xavier de Richemont est un peintre français né en 1959 en Algérie.  Il vit et travaille à Angers (France).

Il a étudié la Peinture à l’École Nationale des Beaux-Arts d’Aix-en-Provence (France). Il a travaillé étroitement, pour le théâtre et l’opéra à travers le monde, avec des artistes comme Robert (Bob) Wilson, David Salle ou Andy de Groat.

Xavier de Richemont a conçu depuis plus de 20 ans de multiples œuvres vidéo monumentales dans le monde entier. En 2002 il crée le premier Festival des Lumières de Chartres (France) dont il sera l’unique artiste et directeur artistique pendant 10 ans. En 2010 il est invité par le gouvernement mexicain à commémorer par son travail le bicentenaire de l’Indépendance et le centenaire de la Révolution mexicaine dans 7 villes emblématiques du pays.

Il signe en 2012 l’ouverture du Grand Musée Maya de Merida (Mexique) avec une œuvre fondatrice « Yuca’ma’yab » sur le Monde Maya. En 2014 il installe une œuvre majeure sur le sol américain en proposant pour la prochaine décade son « San Antonio – The Saga » une œuvre vidéo magistrale de 24 minutes créée pour la plus ancienne cathédrale catholique des USA (San Antonio, Texas, USA). Il a conçu en 2015 une œuvre monumentale majeure pour le Roi du Maroc à Marrakech. Il a participé à de multiples manifestations d’Art Vidéo Contemporain aux États Unis, au Canada et en Allemagne, notamment dans le cadre des Capitales Européennes de la Culture. Sa trilogie (2016-2018) sur Jeanne d’Arc pour la ville d’Orléans est unanimement reconnue. L’Ambassade de France en Inde lui commande en 2017 une œuvre monumentale pour Amber Fort à Jaïpur (Rajasthan). Il prépare en 2018 pour le Musée National de la Renaissance une œuvre sur les collections du Château d’Écouen, commande du Ministère de la Culture.

Il vient de signer une œuvre colossale sur l’histoire des filatures de la ville de Roubaix (France) et travaille à plusieurs projets aux États-Unis, en Inde et au Mexique.

On peut voir ses œuvres permanentes en France, en Espagne, aux États Unis ou au Mexique.

L’importance du sens contenu dans son travail est majeure. Son style très personnel dans le traitement graphique aux traits et mouvements lyriques, jouant de la lenteur des mouvements et de la vibration des formes, des lignes et des couleurs assemblant abstraction et figures, narration et musique est très particulier. Ce travail est composé et projeté en vidéo. Sa recherche d’une écriture nouvelle par ce moyen contemporain, son expérience de la scène et son tempérament de peintre en font l’un des artistes vidéo français les plus sollicités dans le Monde.

Dernières œuvres